Ed's Machine Shed - Wisconsin's Plow Museum
Unique to the state, Wisconsin' s Plow Museum, also known as Ed's Machine Shed, is a collection of 39 restored plows from 1915-1955. A few tractors are included in the collection.
The plow museum is open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. at no charge. Donations are accepted for upkeep. It is handicapped accessible.
Ladysmith resident Ed Tomasovich, who has acquired the collection over the years, donated it to the city in exchange for the construction of a building to house it. The red, barnlike 60-by 70-foot machine shed has 4,200 square feet of space with two extensions for overflow space.
Ed Tomasovich is passionate about collecting and restoring antique farm plows. He has restored nearly 39 vintage plows and tractors. Each one meticulously disassembled, hand sanded, painted and reassembled piece by piece. Ed still vividly remembers growing up on a dairy farm in Rusk County. Ed has agreed to donate his renowned collection of 39 completely restored vintage plows to become a major part of the Rusk County Historical Museum.
Included in the plow & tractor collection are:
John Deere Model 4 Two Bottom General Purpose
John Deere Model 22 One Bottom Truss Frame
International Harvester Model 2 Little Wonder Two Bottom with Scotch Bottoms
Oliver Model 3-AXX 16" Brush Breaker
LaCrosse Model 16 One Bottom 16" Brush Breaker
Moline Model TK Two Bottom
Original 1935 John Deere D Plow Day Workhorse
1947 John Deere M